I feel like an old man

This morning I finished seven games of Ultimate in HUC‘s third annual all-nighter tourney. We didn’t do so well, but I surprised myself by maintaining a reasonable standard of play. It turns out that most of the hot-shot young sprinters couldn’t keep running after 4am, so by the end I was playing just as well or better than some top-seed players. It’s nice to know all those all-nighters in undergrad paid off.

Also cool: walking home at 8am and feeling every muscle in my leg strain with effort. I can’t really describe the feeling, but the pain, the satisfaction of accomplished work, and the interesting little anatomy lesson made me feel pretty special.

Some Pics: (Not mine. My little digicam couldn’t hack it in the dim light)
ultimate allnighter 1
Ultimate Allnighter 3
Ultimate Allnighter 2

2 Responses to “I feel like an old man”

  1. Dad Says:

    Based on this, you will begin to feel very special around your fiftieth birthday, and it will just be one special day after another!

    Well, there’s always tai chi.

  2. simplesimons Says:

    Fifty! That’s like like forever away. I can’t even imagine being that old 🙂
    Actually, by the time I’m fifty, I won’t be feeling any pain, since I’ll have perfected that exoskeleton I’ve been planning.

Leave a Reply

