Awesomeness waits for no man

I had some thoughts to explore, but I’ve been too, um, preoccupied lately to find time to post. So to buy myself some more time, I present you more awesomeness:

1. I spent a good chunk of Sunday evening writing software to implement a cool idea I had, namely, to show all the words between any two given words in a thesaurus. I wanted to use the tool to help understand semantic relationships between concepts, such as “Grace” and “Serenity”. Well after about three hours of programming, I chanced upon the Lexical Freenet, which does everything I wanted to do, and more. So I don’t get to be the next “Roget”, but I did find a cool tool. BTW Grace ← order → tranquility → serenity.

2. I never believed in the idea that Graffiti was a kind of tranformational urban artform, but the folks at Graffiti Research Labs make a pretty good case with their Giant Laser Spray Paint

3. Finally, to continue my electronic music obsession, check out How to Get Musical in the Kitchen. Impress your guests with this simple recipe.

4. Theo Jansen and his wind-powered kinetic sculptures “Strandbeest”. His work is the height of engineering art. I have a strong urge to build one and set it loose on the upwind side of the Sahara.

Leave a Reply

