What shall I do, then, with the ones you call pigeon eggs?

I noticed today that my balcony pigeons, who’ve won ownership of their home through their unrepentant pooping, have built a nest in the corner and have laid two eggs. I worry about the mess and the parasites the chicks might bring. Still I can’t bring myself to destroy the nest. I’ve got to decide fast – the gestation period is only 18 days (and the eggs may have been here for that long). Votes?

2 Responses to “What shall I do, then, with the ones you call pigeon eggs?”

  1. isabel Says:

    Awww, keep ’em. But once they’ve flown the nest, TAKE STEPS.

  2. simplesimons Says:

    Oh man. That was SOOO the wrong choice. Both eggs hatched, but the parents killed the one bird after a week, leaving me to throw out the carcass. The other one has been spending the past four weeks gilding its nest (and my balcony) with poo. As soon as I see this thing fly, the whole nest is going in a hasmat bag, and I’m screening off the whole balcony. How dare these birds not recognize my property rights!

Leave a Reply

